Monday, April 18, 2016

Depth of Knowledge Filtering

New - Depth of Knowledge Level Filters in Test Builder and Displays in Reports

ATI has made it easier for districts and charters to develop assessments addressing desired levels of cognitive complexity. Galileo Test Builder has been enhanced to support filtering item searches by Depth of Knowledge (DOK) level while developing assessments. Additionally, when items are administered, DOK information may be easily viewed in several reports (i.e. Item Analysis, Intervention Alert, and Test Monitoring Reports). Soon, DOK levels will also be viewable in the Test Review interface for users with appropriate permissions.

With this functionality available, a quick review of Depth of Knowledge is in order.
As we discuss the expectations associated with state standards, a concept that features prominently in the conversation is the idea of Depth of Knowledge (DOK). In the video below, Dr. Norman Webb, the developer of the concept of Depth of Knowledge, explains the four  levels and the importance of all four.



Level 1:  Recall
Level 1 includes the recall of information such as a fact, definition, term, or a simple procedure, as well as performing a simple algorithm or applying a formula.
Item types: multiple-choice, open response, and technology-enhanced items.

Level 2:  Skill/Concept
Level 2 includes the engagement of some mental processing beyond a habitual response. A Level 2 assessment item requires students to make some decisions as to how to approach the problem or activity, whereas Level 1 requires students to demonstrate a rote response, perform a well-known algorithm, follow a set procedure (like a recipe), or perform a clearly defined series of steps.
Item types: multiple-choice, open response, and technology-enhanced items.

Level 3:  Strategic Thinking
Level 3 requires reasoning, planning, using evidence, and a higher level of thinking than the previous two levels. In most instances, requiring students to explain their thinking is a Level 3 attribute. Activities that require students to make  and support conjectures are also at this level. The cognitive demands at Level 3 are complex and abstract.
Item types: open response and technology-enhanced items.

Level 4:  Extended Thinking
Level 4 requires complex reasoning, planning, developing, and thinking most likely over an extended period of time.
Item types: performance-based assessment and open response.
Assessment planning requires the selection of standards. Those standards may require some or all levels of Depth of Knowledge depending on the expectations of the standard. It is essential that district planning includes standards that support the DOK levels a district wishes to measure.

Please contact ATI Education Management Services or your Field Service Coordinator to learn how to incorporate items at the expected Depth of Knowledge into your assessments.

No comments: